TL;DR
Get garage and car supplies delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Mahindra’s Charge_iN public charging network has expanded to 50 locations in India, according to the company. Its latest station, at an HP Auto Care Centre on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway, is the first operating under Mahindra’s collaboration with HPCL. The companies have not provided a timetable or rollout target for additional stations.
Mahindra’s Charge_iN public EV charging network has expanded to 50 locations in India, the automaker said. The newest station is at an HP Auto Care Centre on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway and is the first Charge_iN location to begin operating under Mahindra’s collaboration with Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited (HPCL).
The new site places a Charge_iN station on a major inter-city route between Mumbai and Pune. According to the report, the station is located at an HP Auto Care Centre, part of HPCL’s retail network. Mahindra and HPCL announced an agreement in March to develop EV charging infrastructure at HPCL outlets across India; the expressway location is the first station under that collaboration to become operational.
Mahindra says Charge_iN locations use 180 kW dual-gun chargers. The company says the chargers can serve its Electric Origin SUV models, including the XEV 9e, BE 6 SPORTEQ and XEV 9S. The source describes the network’s sites as positioned along major highway corridors and co-located with amenities such as restaurants and cafés.
The available report gives the network total as 50 locations, but does not provide a breakdown of locations by state, charger availability, or how many sites were added in a particular period. It also does not say whether all 50 locations are open to every compatible EV or provide details about access, pricing, payment methods, or operating hours.
More Charging on a Major Expressway
For drivers, the new station adds a charging option on a busy inter-city corridor and is part of a broader network that Mahindra says now covers 50 locations. Highway charging can be relevant to EV owners making longer trips, though the source does not give information about the station’s exact position on the route, its number of charging units, or expected waiting times.
The HPCL partnership could give Mahindra access to locations at an established fuel-retail network as the companies work on charging infrastructure at HPCL outlets. The opening of this site shows that the agreement has produced an operating station, but one location alone does not establish the pace or geographic reach of the planned rollout. For prospective users, practical details such as live charger status, compatibility, and payment arrangements will help determine how useful the network is on a given journey.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The Mahindra-HPCL Charging Agreement
In March, Mahindra and HPCL announced an agreement to develop EV charging infrastructure at HPCL retail outlets across India. The Mumbai-Pune Expressway station is identified in the source report as the first operational Charge_iN site under that agreement. The report does not state how many stations the companies plan to develop or give a schedule for further openings.
Charge_iN is described as a public charging network operated by Mahindra. Its reported focus includes major highway corridors, with some stations located alongside restaurants and cafés. Mahindra’s stated charger specification is 180 kW with two guns; the source names three of the automaker’s Electric Origin SUVs as vehicles the chargers are capable of charging. It does not provide independent performance testing or details on charging times.
“The report identifies the new station as the first Charge_iN location to become operational under the company’s collaboration with HPCL.”
— Mahindra Automotive, as cited by Charged EVs
Rollout Scale and Station Access
The source does not specify when the 50-location total was reached, how many stations were added recently, or how the locations are distributed across India. It also gives no target or timetable for future Charge_iN openings under the HPCL agreement.
Details for customers remain limited: the report does not state the new site’s number of chargers, hours, pricing, payment options, or live availability. Although Mahindra says the network’s 180 kW dual-gun chargers can charge the named Electric Origin SUVs, the source does not explain compatibility or access rules for vehicles from other manufacturers. Those points should not be inferred from the network total or charger specification.
Further HPCL Site Openings
The next visible step is whether Mahindra and HPCL bring additional charging stations online at HPCL retail outlets. The companies have announced plans to develop infrastructure through their agreement, but the source provides no confirmed opening schedule, rollout target, or list of upcoming sites. Further company announcements would clarify the planned scale and timing.
Drivers seeking to use the Mumbai-Pune Expressway station will need to check Mahindra’s current station information for operational status, access, pricing, and payment instructions. The source report does not include those customer-use details or confirm how they can be checked.
Key Questions
How many Charge_iN locations are reported in India?
Mahindra’s Charge_iN network has reached 50 locations, according to the source report. It does not provide a list of the locations or a state-by-state breakdown.
Where is the newest Charge_iN station?
The newest reported station is at an HP Auto Care Centre on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway. The source does not give its precise address or kilometre marker.
What is the connection between Mahindra and HPCL?
The companies announced an agreement in March to develop EV charging infrastructure at HPCL retail outlets across India. The expressway station is reported as the first Charge_iN site operating under that collaboration.
Which vehicles can use Charge_iN’s chargers?
Mahindra says the network’s 180 kW dual-gun chargers can charge its Electric Origin SUVs, including the XEV 9e, BE 6 SPORTEQ and XEV 9S. The source does not describe compatibility or access rules for other vehicles.
When will more HPCL-linked stations open?
No timetable or target for additional openings is provided in the source report. The companies have said they will develop charging infrastructure at HPCL outlets, but the timing and number of future stations remain unclear.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
